Board of Directors

Chapin Hall’s board of directors is responsible for ensuring the organization is working effectively towards its mission: improving the well-being of children and families.


John Mark Hansen, PhD
Charles L. Hutchinson Distinguished Service Professor
Department of Political Science
University of Chicago


Mary Ellen Caron, PhD
Chief Executive Officer
After School Matters

Jim Croft, PhD
JWC Consulting Group

Maricela Garcia, MSW
Chief Executive Officer
Gads Hill Center

Chaula Gupta, MA
Vice President
The Chicago Public Education Fund

Deborah Gorman-Smith, PhD
Emily Klein Gidwitz Professor and Interim Dean
School of Social Service Administration
University of Chicago

Katherine D. Kinzler, PhD
Department of Psychology
University of Chicago

Doriane Miller, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine and Director, Center for Community Health and Vitality
UChicago Medicine
University of Chicago

Quinn Rallins, JD
Director of Justice, Equity, and Opportunity Initiative
Office of the Illinois Lieutenant Governor

Ivan Samstein, PhD
Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
University of Chicago